cheap uggs

Veerle Poupeye | Jamaica

Veerle Poupeye
Art historian, curator
Jamaica
Contact us

From Belgian origin, Veerle Poupeye is specialized in Caribbean art history and is a curator. After a master in Art History in the University of Gent, Belgium, she completed her Ph.D at the University of Emory, Atlanta, USA, with a dissertation centered on Caribbean Art in the 20th Century.

Veerle Poupeye is much interested to the links between Caribbean art, popular culture and religion. She highlighted how social traditions of each Caribbean country (vodoo in Haiti, rastafari in Jamaica, santeria in Cuba, etc.) had diferent impacts on the local artistic production.

She is currently the Executive Director of the National Gallery of Jamaica. She occupied for a long period the position of Chief curator for this gallery, and before that her career was turned towards teaching and being a professor.

She taught Art history, Visual Arts, Curating at the Edna Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts, Kingston, Jamaica. This university is recognized as the best for forming emerging talents and she was also curator for the Edna Manley’s gallery (CAG[e] gallery). She was also professor at the University of Emory and at the New York University.

She participated in the conference « The Black Jacobins – Barbados/Martinique » (2011) during the Black Diaspora Festival.

In addition to publishing articles, reviews and catalogue essays – she authored the books Caribbean Art (Thames & Hudson’s World of Art series, 1998) and Modern Jamaican Art (with David Boxer, Ian Randle Publishers, 1998).

cheap uggs

Veerle Poupeye | Jamaïque

Veerle Poupeye
Historienne d’art & conservatrice
Jamaïque
Nous contacter

D’origine belge, Veerle Poupeye est spécialisée sur les Caraïbes en tant qu’historienne d’art et que conservatrice et commissaire d’exposition. Après un master en Histoire de l’Art à l’université de Gent en Belgique, elle vient d’obtenir un doctorat à l’université d’Emory, à Atlanta aux Etats-Unis, dont le sujet s’articule autour de l’art caribéen au XXe siècle.

Veerle Poupeye s’est beaucoup intéressée aux liens entre art caribéen, culture populaire et religion. Elle a mis en avant dans quelle mesure les traditions sociales de chaque pays (vodou pour Haïti, rastafari en Jamaïque, santeria à Cuba, etc.) ont eu un impact sur leur production artistique.

Elle occupe actuellement le poste de directrice exécutive de la Galerie Nationale de Jamaïque, la National Gallery of Jamaica. Ayant occupé un temps les fonctions de commissaire d’exposition et de conservatrice pour cette même galerie, son parcours a été marqué par une longue expérience de professorat.

Elle a enseigné l’histoire de l’art, les arts plastiques et la conservation en Jamaïque à l’Edna Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts (université la plus reconnue pour la formation de jeunes talents, où elle fut également commissaire d’exposition) mais aussi à l’université d’Emory et à la New York University.

Elle a également participé à la conférence « Les Jacobins Noirs – Barbade/Martinique » (2011) lors du Black Diaspora Festival.

A cet égard, ces publications comprennent – outre des articles, des critiques et des catalogues – les ouvrages Caribbean Art (Thames & Hudson’s World of Art series, 1998) et Modern Jamaican Art (avec David Boxer, Ian Randle Publishers, 1998).