cheap uggs

Leah Gordon and her Caste Portraits series

Leah Gordon’s new photographs investigate the practice of the grading from black to white of skin colour, referred to as ‘Caste’, which revealed the extent of racial mixing in 18th century colonial Haiti.

A measuring system which moves through black to white in nine degrees, it was developed by a French colonialist living in Haiti during the slave plantation period. Moreau de St Mery created a surreal taxonomy of race which classified the skin colour of the colony’s population, where white, or ‘Blanche’ was inevitably socially superior to black, or ‘Noir’. Using names borrowed from mythology, natural history and bestial miscegenation, St Mery classified nine degrees of shading, from pure black to 1/8 white, and 7/8 black and so on through ‘Sacatra’, ‘Griffe’, ‘Marabou’, ‘Mulâtre’, ‘Mamelouque’, ‘Quarteronné’ and ‘Sang-Mêlé’ to ‘White’.

As Colin Dayan, a Haitian historian, comments, ‘Stranger than any supernatural fiction, the radical irrationality of Moreau St Mery’s methods demonstrates to what lengths the imagination can go if driven by racial prejudice.’

Leah Gordon’s discovery of Moreau’s classification system inspired her to make Caste Portraits of the nine skin varieties, with herself at one end of the scale, the ‘Blanche’, and her partner, Andre Eugene, a Haitian sculptor, at the other end of the racial spectrum.

Leah Gordon (UK/Haïti) is an artist and curator and has produced a body of work on the representational boundaries between art, religion, anthropology, post-colonialism and folk history. Her photographic work registers junctures between history, cosmology and the present.

Gordon’s film and photographic work has been exhibited internationally including the National Portrait Gallery, UK, Parc de la Villette, Paris and the Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney. Her photography book Kanaval: Vodou, Politics and Revolution on the Streets of Haiti was published in June 2010.

Leah is the co-director of the Ghetto Biennale in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Gordon was the adjunct curator for the Haitian Pavilion at the 54th Venice Biennale, was on the curatorial team for the In Extremis show in 2012 at the Fowler Museum, UCLA and the co-curator of Kafou : Haiti, History & Art at the Nottingham Contemporary. Gordon is a senior lecturer at the University of Bedfordshire and is represented by Riflemaker Gallery, London.

The others artists of the Month of Photography

James Cooper presents four photographs

Discover more… 

Polibio Diaz, Desnudo Sorprendido & Dominican York series

Discover more… 

Leah Gordon and her Caste Portraits series

Discover more… 

Mark King and his Birding series

Discover more… 

Andrés Montalván, Rêve et Réalité & In-visibles Marks series

Discover more… 

Raquel Paiewonsky presents her photographs

Discover more… 

Enrique Rottenberg, Dormir con…, La Familia & Autorretrato series

Discover more… 

… And our report on Phot’Aix, with five Cuban photographers

Discover more…

cheap uggs

Leah Gordon et sa série Caste Portraits


La dernière série de Leah Gordon explore une pratique qui consistait en une gradation de la couleur de peau du blanc au noir, gradation qualifiée de « caste », et qui révèle l’étendue des mélanges raciaux dans l’Haïti colonial du 18e siècle.

Il s’agit d’un système de mesure qui va du noir au blanc en neuf degrés, développé par un colon français vivant en Haïti pendant la période de plantation esclavagiste. Moreau de Saint-Méry a créé une taxonomie surréaliste de la race qui a classé la couleur de la peau de la population de la colonie, où le blanc, ou «Blanche» était inévitablement socialement supérieur au «Noir». Utilisant des noms empruntés à la mythologie, à l’histoire naturelle ou au métissage de bestiaux, St Mery a décrété neuf degrés de couleur de peau : du noir pur à 1/8 blanc et 7/8 noir et ainsi de suite jusqu’à «Sacatra», «Griffe», «Marabou», «Mulâtre», «Mamelouque», «Quarteronné» et «Sang Mêlé », jusqu’à « Blanc ».

Comme Colin Dayan, un historien haïtien, l’a commenté, « plus étrange que n’importe quelle fiction surnaturelle, l’irrationalité radicale des méthodes de Moreau St Mery démontre jusqu’où peut aller l’imagination lorsqu’elle est pilotée par des préjugés raciaux ».

La découverte par Leah Gordon du système de classification de Moreau l’a inspirée à faire ses Caste Portraits de neuf variétés de peau, avec elle-même à une extrémité de l’échelle, la «Blanche», et son partenaire, André Eugène, un sculpteur haïtien, à l’autre bout de ce spectre racial..

Leah Gordon (UK/Haïti) est artiste et commissaire d’exposition. Elle a produit un ensemble d’œuvres sur les frontières de représentativité entre l’art, la religion, l’anthropologie, le post-colonialisme et l’histoire des peuples. Son travail photographique est un registre des points de réunion et de jonction de l’histoire, de la cosmologie et du présent.

Ses œuvres cinématographiques et photographiques ont été exposé à l’international, en incluant des lieux comme la National Portrait Gallery, UK ; le Parc de la Villette, Paris ou le Museum of Contemporary Art de Sydney. Son livre de photographie Kanaval: Vodou, Politics and Revolution on the Streets of Haiti a été publié en juin 2010.

Leah est co-directrice de la Ghetto Biennale de Port-au-Prince, Haïti, et a été dans les équipes curatoriales du 1e pavillon Haïtien à la 54e Biennale de Venise, pour In Extremis au Fowler Museum et pour Kafou : Haiti, History & Art à Nottingham Contemporary (toutes deux à l’automne 2012). Elle est conférencière à l’University of Bedfordshire, et est représentée par la Riflemaker Gallery, Londres.

Les autres artistes du Mois de la Photo

James Cooper présente ses photographies

En savoir plus… 

Polibio Diaz, séries Desnudo Sorprendido & Dominican York

En savoir plus… 

Leah Gordon et sa série Caste Portraits

En savoir plus… 

Mark King et sa série Birding

En savoir plus… 

Andrés Montalván, séries Rêve et Réalité & In-visibles Marks

En savoir plus… 

Raquel Paiewonsky présente ses photographies

En savoir plus… 

Enrique Rottenberg, séries Dormir con…, La Familia & Autorretrato

En savoir plus… 

… Et notre reportage sur Phot’Aix, avec cinq photographes cubains

En savoir plus…