cheap uggs

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice | Martinique

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice
Curator
Martinique
Contact us

Graduated of NYU in art history,  New York University, USA (1994).

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice is the founder of the JM’Arts Gallery, launched in 2002 in Paris, France ; even if the concept of the gallery was launched as soon as 2001, time when the gallery was then located in the rue Crozatier in Paris in a flat. The gallery closed its doors at the end of 2011.
JM’Arts represented, amongst others, the artists Carlos Estévez (Cuba), Inès Tolentino (Dominican Republic), Thierry Alet (Guadeloupe), Anabell Guerrero (Venezuela), Yolanda Naranjo (Dominican Republic / Greece), Jorge Pineda (Dominican Republic), Sentier (Martinique)…
Every year, she organized the exhibitions Les Faiseuses, dedicated to Caribbean feminine artistic creation. Two women were invited to produce artworks together that they would later on exhibit. The gallery hence set up around 50 exhibitions of Caribbean and American contemporary art. JM’Arts was selected to participate in the « Slick Art fair » (2010) and in « Chic Dessin » (2011), both events in Paris, France. JM’Arts was responsible for launching the concepts of “Martinique Nouvelle Vague” and “Guadeloupe Nouvelle Vague” that enabled several emerging artists from the French Antilles to be presented in Paris ; or for showcasing Barbadian artists through the show Barbadiana.

In 2012, Johanna Auguiac-Célénice curated the exhibition Maditierra, honouring Martinique in Santiago de Cuba, Cuba.

In 2009, she is artistic advisor for the exhibition Kreyol Factory at La Villette, Paris, France, together with Régine Cuzin.

In 2008, she takes part to the international symposium « Contemporar Art in the Caribbean » organized in Martinique, through an intervention in the section around « Caribbean art, between identity revendication and will of international recognition ».

In 2007, she was curator of the festival Les Météores at the Scène Nationale de l’Hippodrome in Douai, France and for the festival of Francophonies en Limousin. The same year she is president of the jury of Bonao’s biennial in Dominican Republic.

From 1999 to 2002, she is profesor in art history and  semiology at the IRAVM, Regional Institute of Visual Art in Fort-de-France, Martinique.

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice is member of the AICA/Sud.

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice is the founding director of the BIAC Martinique, Biennale Internationale d’Art Contemporain, which first edition is held from November 22, 2013 to January 15, 2014 and which theme is “On the Resonance of the Literary Outcry in the Visual Arts“. For this need, Uprising travelled to the Martinique from November 19 to 26 to report on the event and conduct a series of interviews of the organizing team, the invited curators, the artists in residency and the artists from the International and Martinican Pavilions.

Exclusive Interview of Johanna

In October 2013, she answered to our questions on the creation and development of the biennale. Read more

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice published her essays in the book Art Public, Une Collection d’Art Contemporain en Guadeloupe, Skira Flammarion, 2010. She contributes to exhibition’s catalogues, such as for Thierry Alet.

cheap uggs

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice | Martinique

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice
Commissaire d’exposition
Martinique
Nous contacter

Diplômée de NYU en histoire de l’art,  New York University, États-Unis (1994).

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice est la fondatrice de la Galerie JM’Arts, lancée en 2002 à Paris, France ; même si le concept de la galerie a été lancé en 2001 où elle était alors située dans le 12ème à la rue Crozatier dans un appartement/galerie. La galerie a fermé ses portes fin 2011.
JM’Arts réprésentait les artistes Carlos Estévez (Cuba), Inès Tolentino (République Dominicaine), Thierry Alet (Guadeloupe), Anabell Guerrero (Venezuela), Yolanda Naranjo (République Dominicaine / Grèce), Jorge Pineda (République Dominicaine), Sentier (Martinique)…
Elle organisait chaque année les expositions Les Faiseuses, dédiées à la création plastique caribéenne féminine. Deux femmes étaient invitées à produire ensemble des œuvres et à les exposer ensuite. La galerie a organisé au total une cinquantaine d’exposition d’art contemporain de la Caraïbe et des Amériques. JM’Arts a été sélectionnée à « Slick Art fair » (2010) et « Chic Dessin » (2011), et a notamment lancé les concepts « Martinique Nouvelle Vague » et « Guadeloupe Nouvelle Vague » qui ont permis de présenter à Paris de jeunes artistes antillais ; ou encore a présenté des artistes barbadiens avec Barbadiana.

En 2012, Johanna Auguiac-Célénice curate l’exposition Maditierra, mettant la Martinique à l’honneur à Santiago de Cuba, Cuba.

En 2009, elle est conseillère artistique de l’exposition Kreyol Factory à la Villette, Paris, France, aux côtés de Régine Cuzin.

En 2008, elle participe au séminaire international « L’Art Contemporain de la Caraïbe » organisé en Martinique, dans la section sur « l’art dans la Caraïbe, entre revendication identitaire et ambition de reconnaissance internationale ».

En 2007, elle est commissaire pour le festival Les Météores sur la Scène Nationale de l’Hippodrome de Douai et pour le festival des Francophonies en Limousin. La même année elle est présidente du jury de la biennale de Bonao en République Dominicaine.

De 1999 à 2002, elle est professeure d’histoire de l’art et de sémiologie à l’IRAVM, Institut Régional d’Art Visuel de Fort-de-France, Martinique.

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice est membre de l’AICA/Sud.

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice est l’instigatrice et directrice de la BIAC Martinique, Biennale Internationale d’Art Contemporain, dont la première édition se tient du 22 novembre 2013 au 15 janvier 2014 et dont le thème est « De la Résonance du Cri Littéraire dans les Arts Visuels ». A ce titre, Uprising effectue en reportage à la Martinique du 19 au 26 novembre et conduit une série d’interviews de l’équipe organisatrice, des commissaires invités, des artistes en résidence et des artistes exposant dans les Pavillons International et de la Martinique.

Interview Exclusive de Johanna

En octobre 2013, elle a répondu aux questions d’Uprising Art concernant la genèse et les développements de cette biennale. Lire plus

Johanna Auguiac-Célénice publie des essais dans le livre Art Public, Une Collection d’Art Contemporain en Guadeloupe, Skira Flammarion, 2010. Elle participe à la rédaction de catalogues d’exposition, comme sur Thierry Alet.