cheap uggs

Jean-Michel André | Martinique FWI

Born in 1976, in Nantes, France,
Lives and works in Martinique.
Photography
http://jmaphotographies.com

My work as a photographer lies on the evocation, the poetry of imaginary words. My artistic approach is situated on the verge of what is real and what is abstract by inciting to questioning and daydreaming.

The urban landscape is essential in the artistic work that I have been leading for a few years. Traces of history, absence, void and fullness are recurring themes in my personal series.

Man is sometimes invisible in my work but he is always at the core of my series. I also pay a great deal of attention to the artistic visual of my photographs and I like creating doubt in the audience by offering a contemporary photographic style, often close to painting or drawing.

Jean-Michel André.

Born in Nantes in 1976, Jean-Michel André grew up in Senegal and in Spain, then lived in the UK, in France and in Morocco. Since 2009, he has been living and working in Martinique. The Caribbean became his new homeland and source of inspiration.

Graduated from the Gobelins‘ division of photography, the “School of Image”, in Paris.

In 2011, he received a grant for creation by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication in the framework of the program “Ecritures de lumière” (Light Writings). For his series Dos à la mer (The back to the sea), the DAC Martinique gave him a fellowship in 2010.

Jean-Michel André’s individual shows

Exilés at the Fondation Clément, in Martinique (2012); Dos à la mer at the Galerie André Arsenec of the CMAC – Scène Nationale of Martinique (2011) ; Regard sur le monde at the atrium of the bank BNP Paribas in Paris, France (2011) ; Maroc Epuré at the Little Big Galerie of Paris, France (2010) as well as in the Delacroix gallery in Tanger, Morocco (2009) ; and the exhibition Traces d’histoire at the CDG gallery in Rabat, Morocco (2007).

Collective exhibitions

The Pavement and the beach at the Paradise Row gallery in London, UK (2011) ; Fenêtre Sur at the Art Présent gallery in Paris, France (2010) ; Rencontres at the 6B of Saint-Denis, France (2010) ; a participation with his series Maroc Epuré at the “Off” (fringe festival) of the Rencontres Photographiques d’Arles, France (2010) and last the exhibition Solidarité Haïti at the villa Chanteclerc in Martinique (2010).

In 2011, the book Dialogue by Jean-Michel André was published and edited by BNP Paribas, and was released with essays from the French academician Erik Orsenna.
In 2010, the photographer published the book Maroc Epuré, Ed. Senso Unico, with a preface by Tahar Ben Jelloun, and gets diffused in France, Africa and the UK.

Artworks by the artist

Sorry but we could not find what you were looking for. But don’\t give up, keep at it

cheap uggs

Jean-Michel André | Martinique

Né en 1976, en France,
Vit et travaille en Martinique.
Photographie
http://jmaphotographies.com

Mon travail d’artiste photographe repose sur l’évocation, la poésie des mots imaginaires. Ma démarche artistique se situe à la lisière du réel et de l’abstraction en invitant au questionnement et à la rêverie.

Le paysage urbain est essentiel dans le travail artistique que je mène depuis plusieurs années. Les traces d’histoires, l’absence, le vide et le plein sont des thématiques récurrentes dans mes séries personnelles.

L’homme est parfois invisible dans mon travail, mais il est toujours au cœur de mes séries. Je prête également une grande attention au rendu plastique de mes photographies et j’aime créer le doute vis-à-vis du public en proposant un style de photographie contemporaine souvent proche de la peinture ou du dessin.

Jean-Michel André.

Né à Nantes en 1976, Jean-Michel André a grandi au Sénégal et en Espagne, puis a vécu au Royaume-Uni, en France et au Maroc. Depuis 2009, il réside et travaille en Martinique. La Caraïbe est devenue sa nouvelle terre d’ancrage et d’inspiration.

Diplômé des Gobelins, section photographie, l’école de l’image, à Paris.

En 2011, il a reçu une bourse de création attribuée par le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication dans le cadre du programme « Ecritures de lumière ». Pour sa série intitulée Dos à la mer, la DAC Martinique lui a octroyé une bourse en 2010.

Expositions individuelles de Jean-Michel André

Exilés, à la Fondation Clément, en Martinique (2012); Dos à la mer à la Galerie André Arsenec du CMAC – Scène Nationale de Martinique (2011) ; Regard sur le monde à l’atrium de BNP Paribas à Paris (2011) ; Maroc Epuré à la Little Big Galerie de Paris (2010) ainsi qu’à la galerie Delacroix à Tanger au Maroc (2009) ; et l’exposition Traces d’histoire à la galerie de la CDG à Rabat au Maroc (2007).

Expositions collectives

The Pavement and the beach à la galerie Paradise Row à Londres (2011) ; Fenêtre Sur à la galerie Art Présent à Paris (2010) ; Rencontres au 6B à Saint-Denis en France (2010) ; la présentation de son travail Maroc Epuré au Off des Rencontres Photographiques d’Arles (2010) et enfin l’exposition Solidarité Haïti à la villa Chanteclerc en Martinique (2010).

En 2011, l’ouvrage Dialogue de Jean-Michel André est publié, édité par BNP Paribas, il est accompagné des écrits de l’académicien Erik Orsenna.
En 2010, c’est préfacé par l’écrivain Tahar Ben Jelloun que le photographe publie Maroc Epuré, Ed. Senso Unico, et diffusé en France, en Afrique et au Royaume-Uni.

Œuvres de l’artiste

Jean-Michel André | Exilés #19

En savoir plus… 

Jean-Michel André | Exilés #4

En savoir plus… 

Jean-Michel André | Exilés #3

En savoir plus… 

Jean-Michel André | Exilés #2

En savoir plus… 

Jean-Michel André | Dos à la mer #12

En savoir plus… 

Jean-Michel André | Dos à la mer #10

En savoir plus… 

Jean-Michel André | Dos à la mer #8

En savoir plus… 

Jean-Michel André | Maroc Epuré #29

En savoir plus… 

Jean-Michel André | Maroc Epuré #2

En savoir plus…