cheap uggs

David A. Bailey | Bahamas

David A. Bailey
Curator
Bahamas
Contact us

From bahamian origins, David A. Bailey, based in the UK, is interested in the questions of representativity and visibility of African or Afro-caribbean arts on the international stage and to the roles of diasporas in visual art from those regions.

In 2007, he received – for his services to art, the honorary distinction of being a MBE (Member of the British Empire). In 2009, he was recipient of a grant from Andy Warhol Foundation to investigate on Caribbean Art.

He was co-director of the AAVAA (African & Asian Visual Artists Archive) from 1996 to 2002, before being curator for Autograph in London, and founding the ICF (International Curators Forum). For the year 2010, he was supply director for the National Art Gallery of the Bahamas while its director Erica James went on a sabbatical year to get a postdoctoral specialization in USA. He is currently the director of ICF and member of the British Arts Council.


David A. Bailey was co-curator of the exhibitions Back to Black – Art, Cinema and the Racial Imaginary with Petrine Archer and Richard Powell at the Whitechapel Gallery in London (1995) and of Rhapsodies in Black: Art of the Harlem Renaissance, still with Richard Powell at the Hayward Gallery in London (1997) that travelled to the Corcoran Museum of Washington. He also took part in the symposium « The Black Jacobins – Barbados/Martinique » (2011) during the Black Diaspora Festival.

cheap uggs

David A. Bailey | Bahamas

David A. Bailey
Curateur
Bahamas
Nous contacter

D’origine bahamienne, David A. Bailey, basé en Angleterre, s’est intéressé aux questions de la représentation des arts africains ou afro-caribéens à l’échelle internationale et aux rôles des diasporas dans l’art visuel de ces régions.

En 2007, il a reçu pour ses services pour l’art la distinction honorifique de Membre de l’Empire Britannique (MBE) et en 2009 une bourse de la fondation Andy Warhol pour travailler sur l’art caribéen.

Il a été co-directeur de l’AAVAA (African & Asian Visual Artists Archive) de 1996 à 2002, avant d’être curateur pour l’Autograph de Londres, et de fonder l’ICF (International Curators Forum). Durant l’année 2010, il a été directeur remplaçant de la National Art Gallery of the Bahamas tandis que sa directrice Erica James partait pour une année sabbatique de spécialisation postdoctorale aux Etats-Unis. Il est actuellement directeur de l’ICF et membre du British Arts Council.


David A. Bailey a été le co-commissaire des expositions Back to Black – Art, Cinema and the Racial Imaginary avec Petrine Archer et Richard Powell à la Whitechapel Gallery de Londres (1995) et de Rhapsodies in Black: Art of the Harlem Renaissance, encore avec Richard Powell à la Hayward Gallery de Londres (1997) qui voyagea au Corcoran Museum de Washington. Il a également participé à la conférence « Les Jacobins Noirs – Barbade/Martinique » (2011) lors du Black Diaspora Festival.