cheap uggs

Carla Acevedo-Yates | Puerto Rico

Carla Acevedo-Yates
Curator, art historian and critic
Puerto Rico
Contact us

Carla Acevedo-Yates is graduated in Spanish and Latin American Cultures from Barnard College, Columbia University in New York, USA (2000), and in photography from Spéos Photographic Institute in Paris, France (2002). Currently, she is completing a Master in Curatorial Studies from Bard College in Annandale-on-Hudson, USA (anticipated graduation for 2014).

In 2008, Carla Acevedo-Yates launches the online platform dawire.com. This online magazine is based in Puerto Rico, but in English, and is definitely oriented towards contemporary art, its presentation and its critic. Dawire.com is not only focused on Puerto Rican visual arts’ scene, but extends its researches and appraisals on the entire international scene in the field of contemporary art.

She is a member of the AICA (International Association of Art Critics).

Between 2010 and 2011, she is the curator of the Fist Art Foundation in Puerto Rico. This foundation created in 2008 specializes in setting up exhibitions in public spaces and is centered on interactions between contemporary art and nature. Based on public art projects and educational programs , the Fist Art Foundation could count on Carla Acevedo-Yates to curate several exhibitions such as Tree-Boat : a meditative non-site by Korean artist Myeongbeom Kim or en(re) by Teresa Mulet.

Since, Carla Acevedo-Yates is an independent curator, and is working with “private entities in the production of projects that challenge conventional institutional frameworks and their reception by audiences”. Lately, she curated the shows : OB-R: Objeto Rectangular at the ARTLAB753 (2012) or The Dialectic City: Document | Context at the Laboratorio de Artes Binarios (2011).

In 2012, she becomes Associated Curator for the Artist Pension Trust (APT) in New York, USA.

Carla Acevedo-Yates published several articles, notably in magazines such as ArtPulse, La Tempestad in Mexico, Sculpture Magazine or South Magazine from Kunsthalle Athena.

She released the following critics : Art & Activism at the era of globalisation ; a review of duo Allora & Calzadilla’s participation in the 54th Venice Biennial (2011) ; an analysis of the art fair ARCOmadrid’s 30th edition (2011) ; wrote on artist JJ PEET ; on the shows Patria o Libertad, the rhetorics of patriotism and When a painting moves…something must be rotten ! into which were participating several Puerto Rican artists ; on artist Jason Kraus (2010) or on Puerto Rican artists Jason Mena or Catherine Matos Olivo (for Small Axe).

cheap uggs

Carla Acevedo-Yates | Porto Rico

Carla Acevedo-Yates
Commissaire d’exposition, historienne d’art, critique d’art
Porto Rico
Nous contacter

Carla Acevedo-Yates est diplômée en culture et civilisation espagnole et latinoaméricaine du Barnard College de la Columbia University de New York, États-Unis (2000), et en photographie de l’Ecole de Photographie Spéos de Paris, France (2002). Actuellement, elle termine un master en études curatoriales au Bard College d’Annandale-on-Hudson, États-Unis (prévu pour 2014).

En 2008, Carla Acevedo-Yates lance la plateforme virtuelle dawire.com. Cette revue en ligne basée à Porto Rico, mais en anglais, est résolument tournée vers l’art contemporain, sa présentation, et sa critique. Dawire.com n’est pas uniquement focalisée sur la scène des arts visuels contemporains porto ricains, elle s’étend à l’étude des dynamiques à l’œuvre sur l’ensemble de la scène internationale dans le champ de l’art contemporain.

Elle fait partie de l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art).

Entre 2010 et 2011, elle est la commissaire de la Fist Art Foundation de Porto Rico. Cette fondation créée en 2008 se spécialise sur la réalisation d’expositions en espaces publics et sur l’interaction entre l’art contemporain et la nature. Axée sur l’éducation et des projets basés sur des communautés, la Fist Art Foundation a pu compter sur Carla Acevedo-Yates pour curater bon nombre d’expositions comme Tree-Boat : a meditative non-site par l’artiste coréen Myeongbeom Kim ou en(re) de Teresa Mulet.

Depuis, Carla Acevedo-Yates est commissaire indépendante, elle « travaille avec des entités privées sur la production de projets défiant les cadres institutionnels conventionnels ». Dernièrement elle a ainsi curaté les expositions suivantes : OB-R: Objeto Rectangular à l’ARTLAB753 (2012) ou The Dialectic City: Document | Context au Laboratorio de Artes Binarios (2011).

En 2012, elle devient Curatrice Associée à l’Artist Pension Trust (APT) de New York, USA.

Carla Acevedo-Yates a publié de nombreux articles, notamment pour les revues ArtPulse, La Tempestad du Mexique, Sculpture Magazine ou le South Magazine de la Kunsthalle Athena.

Elle a publié les articles suivants : Art & Activisme à l’ère de la mondialisation ; une critique de la participation du duo Allora & Calzadilla à la 54e Biennale de Venise (2011) ; une analyse de la 30e édition d’ARCOmadrid (2011) ; sur l’artiste JJ PEET ; une critique des expositions Patria o Libertad, the rhetorics of patriotism et When a painting moves…something must be rotten ! auxquelles participent plusieurs artistes porto ricains ; sur l’artiste Jason Kraus (2010) ou encore sur les artistes porto ricains Jason Mena ou Catherine Matos Olivo (pour Small Axe).