cheap uggs

Carl E. Hazlewood | Guyana

Carl E. Hazlewood
Curator, artist, art critic
Guyana
Contact us

Graduated in Fine Arts (BFA) with honours from the Pratt Institute of New York (1975) and in Fine Arts and Creative Arts (MA) from the Hunter College of New York (1977).

He received fellowships for going in residence at the Skowhegan in Maine (1973) and at the Brooklyn School Museum in the USA.

In 1983, Carl E. Hazlewood is co-founder of Aljira, A Center for Contemporary Art in Newark, in New Jersey, USA. In the framework of his position in Aljira, he curated more than forty exhibitions, such as Bending the Grid: Modernity, Identity & the Vernac (2004), Modern Life with Okwui Enwezor (1995), Selections: The Work of Women (1993) or Environmental Explorations: Harvest (1987).

In 1994, he sets up the show Current Identities, Recent Painting in the United States, on behalf of Aljira. Presented to the International Painting Biennial in Cuenca (Ecuador), the exhibition was the US-prize winning representation. The show then travelled around the world for three years.

As an independent, Carl E. Hazlewood also curated exhibitions for New Yorkese institutions such as the Nathan Cummings Foundation, the Studio Museum in Harlem, Hallwalls, Five Myles, the Artists Space…

Carl E. Hazlewood’s reviews were published in the magazines Flash Art International, Art Papers Magazine, ARC Magazine and NY Arts Magazine.

He is associate editor for the magazine Nka: Journal of Contemporary African Art, published by the Duke University Press.

cheap uggs

Carl E. Hazlewood | Guyana

Carl E. Hazlewood
Commissaire d’exposition, artiste, critique d’art
Guyana
Nous contacter

Diplômé en beaux-arts avec mention du Pratt Institute de New York (1975) et en beaux-arts et arts créatifs du Hunter College de New York (1977).

Il reçoit des bourses pour effectuer des résidences à la Skowhegan du Maine (1973) et à la Brooklyn School Museum aux Etats-Unis.

En 1983, Carl E. Hazlewood est le co-fondateur du centre d’art Aljira, A Center for Contemporary Art de Newark, dans le New Jersey, Etats-Unis. Dans le cadre d’Aljira, il a curaté plus d’une quarantaine d’expositions, comme Bending the Grid: Modernity, Identity & the Vernac (2004), Modern Life avec Okwui Enwezor (1995), Selections: The Work of Women (1993) ou Environmental Explorations: Harvest (1987).

En 1994, il monte l’exposition Current Identities, Recent Painting in the United States, sous le patronnat d’Aljira. Présentée à la Biennale Internationale de Peinture de Cuenca, l’exposition gagne le prix de représentation des Etats-Unis, et voyage ensuite autour du monde pendant trois années.

De manière indépendante, Carl E. Hazlewood a aussi curaté des expositions pour des institutions new yorkaises comme la Nathan Cummings Foundation, le Studio Museum in Harlem, Hallwalls, Five Myles, l’Artists Space…

Les articles de Carl E. Hazlewood ont été publiés dans les revues Flash Art International, Art Papers Magazine, ARC Magazine et NY Arts Magazine.

Il est éditeur associé pour la revue Nka: Journal of Contemporary African Art, publiée par les Duke University Press.