cheap uggs

Bruno Pédurand, aka IWA | Guadeloupe

Born in 1967 in Pointe-à-Pitre, Guadeloupe,
Lives and works in Fort-de-France, Martinique.
Installation, painting

“I have been developing for more than ten years an artistic approach which aims at interrogating the incidences of the historical and cultural determinants in the construction of an individual conscience in post-colonial societies. My discourse is not limited to the sole West Indian society, which from its particular history represents an archetype of modern society but which should be envisaged as a reflection on the human being as social animal.

Faced with a more and more normative word, it seems to me that it is necessary to claim the artistic fact as an affirmation of a singularity, from a standpoint. Between the western philosopher and the African griot, the statute of the artist allows a critical distance, reflection and even a dream, many activities considered in modern societies as uncontrollable even subversive.

I therefore claim the right to subversion“.

Graduated from the IRAVM (Institut Régional d’Art Visuel) of Fort-de-France, Martinique (1990).
Bruno Pédurand is professor of visual arts there.

In 2000, he is artist in residence at the Cité Internationale des Arts of Paris, France.

In 2012-2013, Bruno Pédurand is artist in residence in Gorée, Senegal, under the aegis of the Musée Dapper of Paris, France, for the project Mémoires (“memories”).

Individual shows by Bruno Pédurand

His last individual shows include : Amnesia at the gallery Olivier Robert of Paris, France (2010) and at the Fondation Clément in Martinique (2008) ; Projet Itinerrance at the Centre Culturel Fonds Saint-Jacques of Sainte Marie, Martinique (2003) and Iwa – Temps de l’esprit at the Casa de las Américas of Havana, Cuba (1997).

Collective exhibitions

Esthétique de la Rencontre at the Fondation Clément in François, Martinique (2012-2013) ; The Global Caribbean 4 – French West Indies & Guiana – Focus on the Contemporary Expression at the Little Haiti Cultural Center of Miami, USA (2012-2013) ; Figurations Caribéennes at the Palais des sports et de la culture of Gosier, Guadeloupe (2012) ; Summer Show at the gallery T&T Art Contemporain of Jarry, Guadeloupe (2012) ; Who More Sci-Fi Than Us at the Kunsthal KadE of Amersfoort, The Netherlands (2012) ; Caribe Expandido at the Centre Culturel de Rencontre Fonds Saint-Jacques of Sainte Marie, Martinique (2011) ; OMA – Outre-Mer Art Contemporain at the Orangerie du Sénat, Paris, France (2011) ; Kreyol Factory at the Grande Halle de la Villette, Paris, France (2009) ; État des lieux : trois ans d’exposition at the Fondation Clément in Martinique (2008) ; Latitudes – Terres du monde at the Hôtel de Ville de Paris (town hall), France (2007) that travelled to Dominican Republic (2010), to Panama and to the 10th Havana Biennial (2009) ; Guadeloupe Nouvelle Vague at the gallery JM’Arts in Paris, France (2007) ; Diaspor’art at the Palais des Congrès of Cotonou, Benin (2004) ; Iconofagia at the foundation TEOR/éTica of San José, Costa Rica (2004) and Latitudes – Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique, La Réunion at the Hôtel de Ville de Paris (townhall), France (2002).

Biennials, fairs

Bruno Pédurand participated in the 10th Havana Biennial, Cuba (2009) ; in the Biennial of Cuenca, Ecuador (2004) ; in the 1st Caribbean Biennial in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (1992) and in the event Art Bemao in Baie-Mahault, Guadeloupe (2009).

In 1998-1999, he was part of the projet La Route de l’Art sur la Route de l’Esclave – curated by Régine Cuzin, that was showcased at the Centre Culturel Fonds Saint-Jacques of Sainte Marie, Martinique (1998) ; at the Artchipel at la Scène Nationale of Basse-Terre, Guadeloupe (1999) and at the Camp de la Transportation in Saint-Laurent du Maroni, French Guyana (1999).

Collections

The artworks of Bruno Pédurand are in the guadeloupian collection Art Public.

Prize

In 1998, he won the grand prix from the jury of the 30th International Painting Festival of Cagnes-sur-Mer, France.

Interview of Bruno Pédurand (November 2013)

Bruno Pédurand exhibits in the Martinican Pavilion of the BIAC Martinique, Biennale Internationale d’Art Contemporain, which first edition is held from November 22, 2013 to January 15, 2014 and which theme is “On the Resonance of the Literary Outcry in the Visual Arts“. For this need, Uprising travelled to the Martinique from November 19 to 26 to report on the event and conduct a series of interviews of the organizing team, the invited curators, the artists in residency and the artists from the International and Martinican Pavilions. In November 2013, Bruno answered to our questions on his new pieces Hétérotopie N°1 & 2. Read more

Artworks by the artist

Bruno Pédurand, dit IWA | L’héritage de Cham

Read more… 

Bruno Pédurand, dit IWA | Les enfants du père Labat

Read more… 

Bruno Pédurand, dit IWA | Marassa Twins

Read more…

cheap uggs

Bruno Pédurand, dit IWA | Guadeloupe

Né en 1967 à Pointe-à-Pitre, Guadeloupe,
Vit et travaille à Fort-de-France, Martinique.
Installation, peinture

« Je développe depuis plus d’une dizaine d’années une démarche artistique qui vise à interroger les incidences des déterminants historiques, et culturels dans l’édification d’une conscience individuelle dans les sociétés post coloniales. Mon propos ne saurait être circonscrit à la seule société antillaise, qui de part son histoire particulière représente un archétype de société moderne, mais se doit d’être envisagé comme une réflexion sur l’humain comme animal social.

Face à un monde de plus en plus normatif, il me semble plus que nécessaire de revendiquer le fait artistique comme affirmation d’une singularité, d’un point de vue. Entre le philosophe occidental et le griot africain, le statut de l’artiste autorise la distance critique, la réflexion, voire le rêve, autant d’activités considérées dans les sociétés modernes comme non contrôlables voire subversives.

Je revendique donc le droit à la subversion« .

Diplômé de l’IRAVM (Institut Régional d’Art Visuel) de Fort-de-France, Martinique (1990).
Bruno Pédurand y est professeur d’art plastique.

En 2000, il effectue une résidence à la Cité Internationale des Arts de Paris, France.
En 2012-2013, Bruno Pédurand réalise une résidence à Gorée, Sénégal, sous l’égide du Musée Dapper de Paris, France, pour le projet Mémoires.

Expositions individuelles de Bruno Pédurand

Amnesia à la galerie Olivier Robert de Paris, France (2010) et à la Fondation Clément en Martinique (2008) ; Projet Itinerrance au Centre Culturel Fonds Saint-Jacques de Sainte Marie, Martinique (2003) et Iwa – Temps de l’esprit à la Casa de las Américas de La Havane, Cuba (1997).

Expositions collectives

Esthétique de la Rencontre à la Fondation Clément du François, Martinique (2012-2013) ; The Global Caribbean 4 – French West Indies & Guiana – Focus on the Contemporary Expression au Little Haiti Cultural Center de Miami, USA (2012-2013) ; Figurations Caribéennes au Palais des sports et de la culture du Gosier, Guadeloupe (2012) ; Summer Show à la galerie T&T Art Contemporain de Jarry, Guadeloupe (2012) ; Who More Sci-Fi Than Us à la Kunsthal KadE d’Amersfoort en Hollande (2012) ; Caribe Expandido au Centre Culturel de Rencontre Fonds Saint-Jacques de Sainte Marie, Martinique (2011) ; OMA – Outre-Mer Art Contemporain à l’Orangerie du Sénat, France (2011) ; Kreyol Factory à la Grand Halle de la Villette, Paris, France (2009) ; État des lieux : trois ans d’exposition à la Fondation Clément en Martinique (2008) ; Latitudes – Terres du monde à l’Hôtel de Ville de Paris, France (2007) qui voyage par la suite en République Dominicaine (2010), au Panama et à 10e la Biennale de La Havane (2009) ; Guadeloupe Nouvelle Vague à la galerie JM’Arts de Paris, France (2007) ; Diaspor’art au Palais des Congrès de Cotonou, Bénin (2004) ; Iconofagia à la fondation TEOR/éTica de San José, Costa Rica (2004) et Latitudes – Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique, La Réunion à l’Hôtel de Ville de Paris, France (2002).

Biennales, foires

Bruno Pédurand a également participé à la 10e Biennale de La Havane, Cuba (2009) ; à la Biennale de Cuenca, Equateur (2004) ; à la 1e Biennale de la Caraïbe Santo Domingo, République Dominicaine (1992) et à la manifestation Art Bemao de Baie-Mahault, Guadeloupe (2009).

En 1998-1999, il prend part au projet La Route de l’Art sur la Route de l’Esclave – curaté par Régine Cuzin, et qui s’expose au Centre Culturel Fonds Saint-Jacques de Sainte Marie, Martinique (1998) ; à L’Artchipel à la Scène Nationale de Basse-Terre, Guadeloupe (1999) et au Camp de la Transportation de Saint-Laurent du Maroni en Guyane (1999).

Collections

Les œuvres de Bruno Pédurand sont comprises dans la collection guadeloupéenne Art Public.

Prix

En 1998, il reçoit le grand prix du jury du 30e Festival International de Peinture de Cagnes-sur-Mer, France.

Interview Exclusive de Bruno Pédurand (novembre 2013)

Bruno Pédurand expose au Pavillon Martinique de la BIAC Martinique, Biennale Internationale d’Art Contemporain, dont la première édition se tient du 22 novembre 2013 au 15 janvier 2014 et dont le thème est « De la Résonance du Cri Littéraire dans les Arts Visuels ». A ce titre, Uprising effectue en reportage à la Martinique du 19 au 26 novembre et conduit une série d’interviews de l’équipe organisatrice, des commissaires invités, des artistes en résidence et des artistes exposant dans les Pavillons International et de la Martinique. En novembre 2013, Bruno a répondu aux questions d’Uprising Art sur ses nouvelles pièces Hétérotopie N°1 & 2. Lire plus

Interview Exclusive de Bruno Pédurand (2012)

Bruno Pédurand a répondu aux questions d’Uprising Art.

Lire plus

Œuvres de l’artiste

Bruno Pédurand, dit IWA | L’héritage de Cham

En savoir plus… 

Bruno Pédurand, dit IWA | Les enfants du père Labat

En savoir plus… 

Bruno Pédurand, dit IWA | Marassa Twins

En savoir plus…